Neighbors and Funny Outbursts

 

Edward has lived in his house for about 12+ years.  I moved in when we got married about 3 1/2 years ago. We know our immediate neighbors, but don’t really have that close “neighbor” connection. 

 
I always wonder what could be going through their heads when Edward is doing yard work. He’ll “whoop” really loud, yell random things repeatedly, and yes, yard work can apparently be really “Cool” and “Awesome!”  He’s comfortable at home and in his yard, so he doesn’t care about letting all of the tics out. It can be entertaining at times, and for me…. oddly comforting. ( I know, weird but true)
 
I imagine the neighbors have figured it out and just don’t say anything. I’m fine with that. It must be strange though, hearing a guy (randomly) yelling as he’s mowing the lawn. There are much worse things than that, maybe even in a neighborhood near you.
 
I can’t help but laugh sometimes over the things he says. Edward calls his Tourette’s a “truth serum.” He will yell out whatever he is thinking, even if it’s totally off topic. You know when you have that random “Squirrel!” thought, but you just keep it to yourself? He sometimes can’t. We’ll be having a conversation and he’ll say, “Joe! Joe! I need to talk to that guy.” What?? You’re talking to me. Or I’ll be talking to him about something and he’ll say, “I gotta do that.” Wait, what do you have to do? Are you even listening?? The fact is, he really is, yet seems to often have another Track playing in the background. Guess we all do this to a certain extent, except his pops out when he (and whomever) least expects it.  
 
My best friend likes to share the story of when he saw her and, without hesitation said, “Crazy!” Then followed it with a few more, “Crazy, Crazy, Crazy.” She said, “OK buddy. I know you just called me Crazy, don’t try to pull that ‘it’s just a random tic’ stuff on me.”  She’s a great friend and a good sport (and just a little bit crazy. 😉 ) 
 
I won’t share all of the funny outbursts, but there have been some good ones through the years. More will likely come up later. 

Leave a comment